life in my Big Yellow House

tackling domestication, one day at a time

ambition March 13, 2010

Filed under: projects — dianarchy @ 4:03 pm
Tags: , ,

We dug up the hydrangea bush today. Last night there were Columbines for sale at Lowe’s and I’ve been talking about disliking that hydrangea bush for a while, so you put the two together and Nate and I had to get ambitious today.

The thing is, hydrangea used to be my favorite flower. I’ve gotten kind of bored with it, though. Everyone has them everywhere. I tried to find out what kind it was using the hydrangea identification tool over to hydrangeashydrangeas.com, but I couldn’t find it. It was just a boring kind with white flowers that quickly turned brown and papery. And now I know it had an extensive root system, because it’s all gone now. My fingers are so sore that this is going to be a short entry, since I’m pretty sure my fingertips might fall off if I keep going.

If it had been pretty and blue or pink, maybe I wouldn’t have wanted to get rid of it so much, but I have a big house on a 0.1 acre lot. If there is a plant in my yard that I am only keeping around because it’s already there and not because I love it, then that is a waste. If Nate plants some beautiful columbines in that spot, it’s no longer a waste. At least in my mind.

The bed is cleared out as far as the hydrangea goes, but we still have to level out the bed and clear out all the dead leaves and crap. And by we, I mean probably Nate. I am a good outside helper, but he is mostly in charge out there. I come up with the ideas and he implements them.

 

Leave a comment